THE WOODEN CAMPANILE OF THE CHURCH OF ST. VIRGIN MARY

Church

The belfry built in 1878 is a unique architectural monument of Radviliškis town, decorated with unique folk art decorative elements. Burnt twice and both times restored by believers’ efforts and sacrifices, the five-story wooden belfry rises higher than the roof of the city’s church. Near it the composition “The path of suffering and torture“ devoted to Lithuanian martyrs, deportees, state prisoners, who died in exile, attracts attention. (Authors – V. Vaicekauskas, A. Dovydaitis and E. Gaubas).

Reviews

To comment on